North Academy
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A Duel Academy for everyone!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
The academy has been shut down, please click here for more details.

Mandatory effects and missing the timing

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
YoungX

Immune to warnings? : No

Mandatory effects and missing the timing Empty
PostSubject: Mandatory effects and missing the timing   Mandatory effects and missing the timing EmptyMon Oct 05, 2015 3:05 pm

As a teacher, I really should've posted this sooner. Anyway without further ado, I am going to explain when effects miss timing and when effects are mandatory.

Missing the timing is when a card effect cannot be activated due to certain events occurring in the game.

Example 1:
Player A has a face-up Elemental Hero Neos, while Player B has no monsters on the field and has 1 ronintoadin and a dupe frog in the graveyard with 3 Des Frogs in the deck. Also Player B has a set bottomless trap hole.
1) Player B special summons a Ronintoadin by banishing dupe frog and activates Inferno Reckless Summon.
2) Because Ronintoadin is treated as Des Frog, 3 Des Frogs are summoned on Player B's side of the field.
3) Player A has 2 Neos in the deck and are summoned onto his side of the field.

Mandatory effects and missing the timing 300?cb=20140405134229

In this scenario, Bottomless Trap hole cannot be chained because it misses the timing. Note that this card states, "also your opponent Special Summons all cards with the same name as the chosen monster from their hand, Deck, and Graveyard." This occurs after your summoning of monsters. Bottomless Trap hole cannot be activated because the last thing to occur from Inferno Reckless Summon is the summoning of your opponent's monsters.
Now I will try to explain Mandatory Effects.

Mandatory effects and missing the timing 300?cb=20130821081429